A lesson on :: Tunnel Vision

All photography by Robert Croma.

All photography by Robert Croma.

Readjusting & letting go. Embracing the experiences gained and not dwelling when they are seemingly “over”. Reminding oneself that things don’t just end, but are cyclical and are changing / growing / evolving to become something new & equally as fulfilling. Reminding oneself that each place & each person carries a bit of magic. That beauty is present & all around – you just have to open your eyes.

13948697951_eb8d8f02f8_o13870193534_9bf80fc21f_oย 13758517625_849769651c_o9758561741_7650ed06f0_o

I’ve been back from Nicaragua for a few weeks now. It seems like it has been forever, and I’m catching myself falling back into old patterns that never got me anywhere – worrying about money, overanalyzing, over-planning, thinking 20 feet ahead instead of realizing where I am. I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of “The Beauty in the ‘In-Between'”. A lesson that anyone who has the opportunity or the drive to travel should really learn to appreciate. It’s something I’m struggling with now & in turn, am becoming frustrated. When I first arrived in my quaint, two-block town, I saw it with fresh eyes – the lush, green forests, the rain every day, the types of flowers, the smell of familiarity. I couldn’t believe I was raised in a place so beautiful & perfect – a secret. But it was a matter of days before I was “over it” and thinking so much about when I go back to Central America (or somewhere else?). For wanderlust people, that “in-between” state is often overlooked. It’s a time to save money, to work multiple jobs, to see family in different areas, to find the cheapest flight and research & plan for when the day that you leave again finally comes.

Frankly, it’s bullshit. I learned so many things while I was away, one being that the moment I stopped planning and thinking more than an afternoon ahead of me was when I was the most present, most relaxed and the happiest I had ever been. You start to sink into your surroundings & simply be. You begin to really see everything around you and not just through this tunnel of where you’re going. You embrace the journey – like looking out your windows on a roadtrip.

12134107764_fb432e40ee_o 10810056513_fc3b518605_o 9947942994_72a71afdcb_o

This tunnel vision is what I’m focusing on breaking out of now. There’s just so much to see & soak in.

The first recognition of beauty was one of the most significant events in the evolution of human consciousness. The feelings of joy and love are intrinsically connected to that recognition.

Eckhart Tolle ; A New Earth

13950132139_c6239c221b_o

Xx On another note, I added a new yoga video to my media page. Feeling re-inspired & back into my consistent & dedicated practice. xX

xX on a lighter note / heavy (para mi), I miss the tropics – here’s a tune to bring it to me & you too Xx ::

Leave a Reply

