Fear vs. Strength

Over the course of just a couple days, your eyes can begin to see things in a completely different way. After just one conversation with one person, we can begin to hear words differently. I’m fortunate enough to have found a handful of people who have truly opened themselves up to me, and in turn, I’ve given back my most truthful thoughts.

Today we wrote about what yoga is. After 30 people voiced their view of what it means to them, I began really connect with some of the words. One particularity is that it means vulnerability. It means letting yourself go to love and letting yourself go to humility. It means strength.

I’ve worked so hard in my life to be a strong person. To be strong physically, to be strong mentally and to be strong emotionally. I feel as though I’ve come to terms with the fact that some days are harder than others. Some days I cry and some days I hurt. Some days I’m overwhelmed and some days I really feel the weight of my life crushing me. I’ve come to terms with that being natural and apart of life.

Today I realized that this view on strength I’ve had is absolutely skewed. This view of closing myself off and hiding my feelings is just a form of weakness. It takes true strength to open your heart even if it doesn’t work in your favor sometimes. It takes courage to let go and let in. To close up is to fear and to give into fear is to be weak. To let a past event or a person dictate the deprivation of something potentially beautiful in your life is just a form of settling or being dishonest with oneself.

This is my second post, and I have received one of the most beautiful messages I have ever read from someone I barely know. It literally put me on a sweet high. When I told my roommates and some of the most beautiful people I’ve met, all of us were so mesmerized at the way people connect to one another through sometimes the smallest commonality. The simplest gesture of sending a heartfelt message has literally made me feel like I have more of a purpose.

Connecting with people always made me feel like I was dependent. Growing with others is inevitable, and to attempt to refuse the nurturing of others is just plain stupid. We are all made with the ability to love. We are all supposed to give back when we want to be given. And I don’t think there’s one person that will ever say they don’t want love.

4 responses to “Fear vs. Strength

  1. Thank you very much, I’am really glad that I’m following you. I’m still figuring out. Just wanted to say that you are an awesome blogger, Inspiring and May you inspire more readers essentially perfectly ok. greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

  2. I’m so proud of you. Your blossoming into that beautiful women that has always been there. You have seen love and light. I send you more.

  3. I love this Natalie!!! I can relate so much to what you’re going through, I did the same a little over a year ago… I’m so excited for you. 🙂 Your words are beautiful.

    XOXO gossip girl

  4. I loved reading your 4th paragraph. I had one of those rock bottom days today and this post really helped. I love seeing how your views are changing. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

